Monday, May 28, 2012

Cannes Film Festival 2012 Main Prize Winners Announced

The 65th Annual Cannes Film Festival which ran from May 16 to May 27 has just concluded.

Critics have mostly praises for this year's entries with the festival jury awarding director Michael Haneke's "Love" (Amour) the prestigious Palme d'Or for best picture.

The Austrian director now has two titles under his belt, and joins the elite list of Cannes Film Festival multiple winners.

Meanwhile, Italian film director Nanni Moretti was also announced as the President of the Jury for the main competition, photo below.

Other main-prize winners for the 2012 Cannes Film festival are below:

Palme d'Or: "Amour", Michael Haneke (Austria)

Best Director: "Post Tenebras Lux", Carlos Reygadas (Mexico)

Best Actress: Jointly awarded to Cristina Flutur and Cosmina Stratan in "Beyond the Hills" by Cristian Mungiu (Romania)

Best Actor: Mads Mikkelsen in "The Hunt" by Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)

Best Screenplay: "Beyond the Hills", Cristian Mungiu (Romania)

Grand Prix: "Reality", Matteo Garrone (Italy)

Jury Prize: "The Angel's Share", Ken Loach (Britain)

Photo credit: Marco Calvani from Rome, Italy